Clock Arrow Icon Quotes Close Audio Loud Audio Mute Amazon Logo Apple Music Logo Facebook Logo Google Plus Instagram Last FM Logo Snapchat Logo Spotify Logo Tidal Logo Twitter Youtube Logo

Released Oct 06, 1986

Scoundrel Days (1986)

Album Cover}

Released in the midst of the 1986 world tour, songs from Scoundrel Days infused a-ha's live setlist with a new, darker sound. A departure from the pure pop of Hunting High and Low, this album contains several mainstays of a-ha's catalogue, "I've Been Losing You," "Cry Wolf" and "Manhattan Skyline."

a-ha's sophomore effort sold over five million copies worldwide and is a prominant favorite of their fans. The album is also a favorite of Morten's: "Scoundrel Days is the record that most closely resembles our demos. It's simply an extension of the demos. It didn't sell anywhere near as much as Hunting High and Low. It demands more from the listener. That's why it became a darling for many."

Ned Raggett, AllMusic Guide: "The opening two songs alone make for one of the best one-two opening punches around: the tense edge of the title track, featuring one of Morten Harket's soaring vocals during the chorus and a crisp, pristine punch in the music, and "The Swing of Things," a moody, elegant number with a beautiful synth/guitar arrangement (plus some fine drumming courtesy of studio pro Michael Sturgis) and utterly lovelorn lyrical sentiments that balance on the edge of being overheated without quite going over...The '80s may be long gone, but Scoundrel Days makes clear that not everything was bad back then."

Track List

Disc 1 Scoundrel Days (1986)

  • 1: Scoundrel Days
  • 2: The Swing Of Things
  • 3: I've Been Losing You
  • 4: October
  • 5: Manhattan Skyline
  • 6: Cry Wolf
  • 7: We're Looking For The Whales
  • 8: The Weight Of The Wind
  • 9: Maybe, Maybe
  • 10: Soft Rains Of April

More Albums

Upcoming Shows

All Shows
Photo of
Sold Out

Ireland, Dublin 3Arena

Tue 29 Oct

Photo of

United Kingdom, Belfast SSE Arena

Wed 30 Oct

Photo of
Sold Out

United Kingdom, Glasgow The Armadillo

Fri 01 Nov

Photo of

United Kingdom, Leeds First Direct Arena

Sat 02 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

United Kingdom, London Royal Albert Hall

Tue 05 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

United Kingdom, Brighton Brighton Centre

Wed 06 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

The Netherlands, Amsterdam AFAS Live

Fri 08 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

France, Paris La Seine Musicale

Sat 09 Nov

Photo of

Germany, Mannheim SAP Arena

Tue 12 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

Germany, Leipzig Leipzig Arena

Wed 13 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

Germany, Oberhausen Koenig Pilsner Arena

Fri 15 Nov

Photo of
Sold Out

Germany, Bremen OVB Arena

Sat 16 Nov

Photo of

Poland, Warsaw Torwar Arena

Mon 18 Nov

Photo of

Russia, St. Petersburg Ice Palace

Wed 20 Nov

Photo of

Russia, Moscow Crocus City Hall

Fri 22 Nov

Photo of

Norway, Trondheim Trondheim Spektrum

Fri 07 Feb